Nancy Hovey-King Morin

After graduation in 1960, I attended Longwood College in Farmville, Virginia. I met my husband, John, while working at Fairfax Hospital during the summer of 1962 and we were married in February of 1963 and subsequently moved to Oregon where we lived until 1998 when he retired. After retiring, we moved to Arizona where we lived until the spring of 2008 when we relocated to north central Iowa.

John retired after 35 years as a computer operations manager for a large electric utility in Portland, Oregon. I spent most of my working life in the medical accounting field but also had a home based business making square and round dance, ballroom ad western attire. I also taught classes in sewing, needlework and painting. We spend our free time dancing, traveling and camping. It was the dancing that drew us to Arizona but we enjoyed numerous other activities there as well.

John and I raised two daughters and they have made us grandparents nine times. Our oldest grandson is no 23 and living in southern California. His two brothers live with their mom, our oldest daughter Tammie, in Oregon. They are 13 and 16. Sadly, our firstborn grandson died at the age of 3 due to heart/lung disease. Tammie has a kennel and raises Yorkies and Cockatoos.

Our youngest daughter, Teri and her husband live in Iowa where they own and operate a funeral home. They have five children ages 15-21.Ai?? The oldest granddaughter is a chef at a resort in the Bavarian Alps. The middle granddaughter is a hairstylist and was married a year ago. In February the will make us great-grandparents. (Don’t know if I am ready for that!). The oldest grandson will begin college in just a week and the other two are still in high school.

Now we are living in Iowa and still trying to adjust to humidity, snow and tornadoes after ten years in sun country where it is not this hot! It has also been an adjustment living in a small town after living in large cities all our lives! We both work part-time at the funeral home when there is a need and I teach watercolor, rubber stamping and paper crafting.

In addition to our daughters and grandchildren, our family consists of a Yorkie (of course) puppy that our daughter sent us for Christmas. He rules the roost!

If you should find yourself in the Des Moines areas, look us up! We would love to see you!

Comments are closed.